Key Contacts at The University of Edinburgh

Last updated 7th August 2018. If a contact is incorrect, please email info@beltanenetwork.org

This is a list of public engagement and knowledge exchange contacts, supporters and department ‘gatekeepers’ at The University of Edinburgh. If you would like to be added to (or removed from) this list, or if your details have changed, please email info@beltanenetwork.org.

Central University contacts

Name Department Role / Project Email
Prof Lesley McAra Principal’s Office Chair of Penology, Assistant Principal Community Relations and Director of EFI Studio Group Lesley.McAra@ed.ac.uk
Dr Heather Rea Institute for Academic Development Public Engagement Coordinator h.j.rea@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Anderson Institute for Academic Development, Social Responsibility and Sustainability Public Engagement Manager and Community Engagement Programme Manager sarah.anderson@ed.ac.uk
Matthew Lawson Social Responsibility and Sustainability Programme Manager and key organisational contact for the Our Changing World lectures series; also works on the University’s social responsibility strategy and reporting Matthew.Lawson@ed.ac.uk

College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine (CMVM)

Name Department Role / Project Email
Chloe Kippen CMVM Head of External Engagement & Communications chloe.kippen@ed.ac.uk
Jenny Durkin CMVM External Engagement and Communications Officer Jenny.Durkin@ed.ac.uk
Prof Eve Johnstone CMVM Honorary Assistant University Principal for Mental Health Research Development and Public Understanding of Medicine e.johnstone@ed.ac.uk

Biomedical Teaching Organisation

Dr Elizabeth Stevenson Biomedical Teaching Organisation Programme Director for MSc in Science Communication and Public Engagement e.stevenson@ed.ac.uk

Biomedical Sciences

Dr Jane Haley Edinburgh Neuroscience Scientific Coordinator with responsibility for Edinburgh Neuroscience public engagement Jane.Haley@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Martin School of Biomedical Sciences School Secretary Sarah.L.Martin@ed.ac.uk
Prof Jamie Davis Centre for Integrative Physiology Academic contact for Our Changing World Jamie.Davies@ed.ac.uk

Clinical Sciences

Rachel Burrow Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences Centre Administrator rachel.burrow@ed.ac.uk
Prof Alan McNeilly Centre for Reproductive Health Lead academic on the “Let’s Talk…” public lecture series a.mcneilly@hrsu.mrc.ac.uk
Dr Donald Davidson Centre for Inflammation Research Senior Lecturer and Research Fellow donald.davidson@ed.ac.uk
Prof Karen Chapman Centre for Cardiovascular Science Group Leader (interest in public engagement) Karen.Chapman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Martin Denvir Centre for Cardiovascular Science Group Leader (interest in public engagement) martin.denvir@ed.ac.uk
Dr Colin Duncan Centre for Reproductive Health Group Leader (interest in public engagement) w.c.duncan@ed.ac.uk
Jan Barfoot MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine Public engagement manager EuroStemCell j.barfoot@ed.ac.uk
Prof Clare Blackburn MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine Professor of Tissue Stem Cell Biology, academic lead for public engagement, and project coordinator for EuroStemCell c.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
Robin Morton MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine CRM Science Communication Manager robin.morton@ed.ac.uk
Dr Cathy Southworth MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine Public Engagement Manager Humen and ThymiStem cathy.southworth@ed.ac.uk
Dr Helen Szoor-McElhinney Division of Health Sciences PROTEUS Engagement Strategist

Molecular, Genetics and Populations Health Sciences

Christine d’Offay Edinburgh Cancer Research Centre CRUK – Edinburgh Centre Research Engagement Manager Christine.D’Offay@cancer.org.uk
Sarah Muir Patrick Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine Science Communications Manager communications@igmm.ed.ac.uk
Dee Davison Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine Scientific Information and Communications Manager communications@igmm.ed.ac.uk
Susan Buckingham Usher Institute Communications Officer

Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

Neil Wilson Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies Marketing Manager Neil.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Stock Roslin Institute Public Engagement Officer nicola.stock@roslin.ed.ac.uk
Jayne Quoiani Easter Bush Science Outreach Centre EBSOC Officer ebsoc@ed.ac.uk

College of Science and Engineering (CSE)

Name Department Role / Project Email
Stuart Dunbar College of Science and Engineering College Engagement Manager, SCI-FUN Roadshow Manager s.dunbar@ed.ac.uk
Peter Reid College of Science and Engineering FUSION Project Manager peter.reid@ed.ac.uk

 School of Biological Sciences

Heather McQueen School of Biological Sciences Senior Lecturer (interest in public engagement) H.McQueen@ed.ac.uk
Janet Paterson School of Biological Sciences Deputy Director of SIBE (Scottish Initiative for Biotechnology Education) Janet.Paterson@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Keer-Keer School of Biological Sciences Outreach Manager, Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology skkeer@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dr Hilary Snaith Edinburgh Infectious Diseases Executive Manager Hilary.snaith@ed.ac.uk

School of Chemistry

Jenny Bos School of Chemistry Public Engagement and Outreach Co-ordinator Jenny.Bos@ed.ac.uk

School of Engineering

Dr Andrew Firth School of Engineering Schools Relations Coordinator Andrew.Firth@ed.ac.uk
Zoe Blah School of Engineering Communications and Alumni Relations Manager Zoe.Blah@ed.ac.uk

School of Geosciences

Tracey Dart School of Geosciences School Administrator / Public Engagement tracey.dart@ed.ac.uk
Colin Graham School of Geosciences/SESEF SESEF Schools Outreach Colin.Graham@ed.ac.uk
Brian Cameron School of Geosciences Geosciences Schools Outreach Brian.Cameron@ed.ac.uk
Dr Steve Brusatte School of Geosciences Chancellor’s Fellow in Vertebrate Palaeontology (interest in public engagement) stephen.brusatte@ed.ac.uk
Rosanna Maccagnano School of Geosciences/SESEF Research Support Services Manager (interest in public engagement reporting) rosanna.maccagnano@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jenny Tait School of Geosciences Senior Lecturer (interest in public engagement) jenny.tait@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jamie Pearce School of Geosciences Professor of Human Geography (sits on CHSS Knowledge Exchange and Impact Committee)  jamie.pearce@ed.ac.uk 
Jillian Hosie School of Geosciences Research Communications Officer j.hosie@ed.ac.uk

School of Informatics

Kasia Kokowska School of Informatics Communications and Outreach Manager Kasia.Kokowska@ed.ac.uk

School of Mathematics

Francesca Iezzi School of Mathematics Maths Engagement Officer Francesca.Iezzi@ed.ac.uk

School of Physics and Astronomy

Ken Rice School of Physics and Astronomy Personal Chair of Computational Astrophysics (interest in public engagement) wkmr@roe.ac.uk
Will Hossack School of Physics and Astronomy Director of Publicity and Recruitment will.hossack@ed.ac.uk
Louise Ferguson School of Physics and Astronomy Director of Professional Services louise.ferguson@ed.ac.uk
Jean-Christophe Denis School of Physics and Astronomy Ogden-ECFP Outreach officer j.c.denis@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Parallel Computing Centre (EPCC)

Lorna Smith EPCC Group Manager  l.smith@epcc.ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation (ECCI)

Anne Marte Bergseng ClimateXChange Communications and Engagement Manager  annemarte@sniffer.org.uk

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Science (CAHSS)

Name Department  Role / Project Email 
Dr Anne Sofie Laegran CHSS Knowledge Exchange Office Knowledge Exchange Manager; Co-convener of the Knowledge Exchange Committee a.s.laegran@ed.ac.uk
Laura Cockram CHSS Knowledge Exchange Office Knowledge Exchange and Communications Advisor
Emma Giles CHSS Knowledge Exchange Office Knowledge Exchange Administrator emma.giles@ed.ac.uk
Clare Sowney CHSS Knowledge Exchange Office Business Development Manager
Shonagh McEwan CHSS Knowledge Exchange Office Knowledge Exchange and Communications Adviser
Prof Catharine Ward Thompson College of Humanities and Social Science Associate Dean Research (Knowledge Exchange and Impact) C.Ward-Thompson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Patricia Erskine College of Humanities and Social Science Head of Stakeholder Relations & Policy Officer patricia.erskine@ed.ac.uk

Applied Quantitative Methods Network (AQMeN)

Fiona Barlow AQMeN (based in School of Law) Communications and Impact Officer Fiona.Barlow@ed.ac.uk

Centre for Research on Families and Relationships (CRFR)

Lesley Kelly CRFR Communication and Knowledge Exchange Coordinator Lesley.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Karen Seditas CRFR Evidence Bank Lead, What Works Scotland k.seditas@ed.ac.uk
Charlie Mills CRFR Knowledge Exchange Assistant Charlie.mills@ed.ac.uk

Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities (IASH)

Prof Steve Yearley IASH Director iash@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ben Fletcher-Watson IASH Institute Administrator iash@ed.ac.uk
Christina Neuwirth IASH Engagement Assistant iash@ed.ac.uk

School of Divinity

Dr Hannah Holtschneider School of Divinity Knowledge Exchange and Impact Director H.Holtschneider@ed.ac.uk
Africa Reboto-Lopez Communications and Marketing (UoE central office) Senior Marketing and Communications Officer africa.reboto-lopez@ed.ac.uk

School of Economics

Dr Robert Zymek School of Economics Knowledge Exchange and Impact Director Robert.Zymek@ed.ac.uk
Gina Reddie School of Economics Research Support and SIRE Administrator gina.reddie@ed.ac.uk
Janet Taylor School of Economics Communications, Engagement and Grant Manager, MaCaLM project janet.taylor@ed.ac.uk

Edinburgh College of Art (ECA)

Dr Patricia Allmer Edinburgh College of Art Knowledge Exchange and Impact Director  Patricia.Allmer@ed.ac.uk
Maire Cox Edinburgh College of Art Communications Officer, OPEN Space  m.cox@ed.ac.uk
Mary Craig Edinburgh College of Art Policy Officer, OPEN Space  m.craig@ed.ac.uk
Marc Stalker Edinburgh College of Art Administrative Assistant (KE and Outreach)  Marc.Stalker@ed.ac.uk
Theresa Valtin Communications and Marketing (central University office) Senior Marketing and Communications Officer  theresa.valtin@ed.ac.uk

School of Health in Social Science

Dr Ethel Quayle School of Health in Social Science KE and Impact Director  Ethel.Quayle@ed.ac.uk
Dr Heather Wilkinson School of Health in Social Science Research and KE Director  H.Wilkinson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Laura Cariola Clinical Psychology Research Assistant (interest in public engagement)  laura.cariola@ed.ac.uk

School of History, Classics and Archaeology

Dr Wendy Ugolini School of History, Classics and Archaeology Deputy Director of Research (KE and Impact) wendy.ugolini@ed.ac.uk
Louise Fleming School of History, Classics and Archaeology School Resources Manager  Louise.Fleming@ed.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Rotter School of History, Classics and Archaeology Research, Impact and Knowledge Exchange Data Coordinator  R.Rotter@ed.ac.uk

School of Law

Dr Alistair Henry School of Law Research and Knowledge Exchange  a.henry@ed.ac.uk
Dr Karen Baston School of Law Research Data, Impact, and KE Coordinator karen.baston@ed.ac.uk
Harriet Cornell School of Law Global Justice Academy Development Officer  Harriet.Cornell@ed.ac.uk
Elisabeth Barlow School of Law Research Communications & Impact Manager elisabeth.barlow@ed.ac.uk

School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures

Dr David Farrier School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures KE & Impact Director David.Farrier@ed.ac.uk
Tom Lea Alwaleed Centre for the Study of Islam in the Contemporary World Outreach Projects Manager tom.lea@ed.ac.uk
Rosie Mellor Alwaleed Centre for the Study of Islam in the Contemporary World Admin and Outreach Officer rosie.mellor@ed.ac.uk
Mikhail Vodopyanov Princess Dashkova Russian Centre Public Engagement Coordinator M.Vodopyanov@sms.ed.ac.uk

School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences

Dr Mark Sprevak School of Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences Knowledge Exchange and Impact Director  
Dr Madeleine Beveridge School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences Knowledge Exchange Officer Madeleine.Beveridge@ed.ac.uk
Dr Beverly Roberts Centre for Cognitive Aging and Cognitive Epidemiology Scientific Administrator beverly.roberts@ed.ac.uk
Dr Iona Beange Centre for Cognitive Aging and Cognitive Epidemiology Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer iona.beange@ed.ac.uk
Professor Antonella Sorace Bilingualism Matters Director antonella@ling.ed.ac.uk
Katarzyna Przybycien Bilingualism Matters Research and Outreach Co-ordinator Katarzyna.Przybycien@ed.ac.uk

School of Social and Political Science

Dr Ann Bruce School of Social and Political Science Deputy Research Director (KE and Impact)  
Chris Berry School of Social and Political Science Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer Chris.Berry@ed.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Escobar Academy of Government Convener, ‘Engagement for Practitioners’ oliver.escobar@ed.ac.uk

The Moray House School of Education

Dr Jen Ross The Moray House School of Education Director Research (KE and Impact)  jen.ross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Simon Temperley The Moray House School of Education Research and Knowledge Exchange Officer
Chloe McAdam The Moray House School of Education Research Coordinator  Chloe.McAdam@ed.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh Business School

Dr Alessandro Rosiello University of Edinburgh Business School KE and Impact Director  Alessandro.Rosiello@ed.ac.uk
Yvonne Crighton University of Edinburgh Business School Research Centre Administrator, Credit Research Centre and Institute of Public Sector Accounting  yvonne.crichton@ed.ac.uk
Lynn Walford University of Edinburgh Business School Research Support Manager (Impact)  Lynn.Walford@ed.ac.uk
Derek Main University of Edinburgh Business School PR and Communications Manager  Derek.Main@ed.ac.uk
Georgina Jamieson University of Edinburgh Business School Research and Impact Administrator  Georgina.Jamieson@ed.ac.uk
Shona Black University of Edinburgh Business School Conference and Events Manager shona.black@ed.ac.uk
Claudia Monteiro University of Edinburgh Business School Head of PR, Communications & Events Claudia.Monteiro@ed.ac.uk

ESRC Centre on Constitutional Change

Nicky Bibby ESRC Centre on Constitutional Change Communications Officer Nick.Bibby@ed.ac.uk